Needless to say that sugary drink wreaks havoc on the health of a child. This reality is well understood and documented, yet we have failed to rescue children from unhealthy soft drinks. This essay examines the reasons for the increased intake of sugary drinks and suggests ways to tackle this situation.

Firstly, the bombardment of commercials from multinational beverage companies is presented in a manner that children feel that they cannot do without such sugary drinks. For instance, the sugary drink contains caffeine, excessive sugar, and chemicals. Nevertheless, they are depicted in a manner that once it is consumed, the child will become like a 'Superman'. Bizarrely, all in the name of the bottom line, such hokum is sold by large corporations targeting moldable minds - children. Secondly, the easy availability of soft drinks makes it more accessible. Lastly, large beverage corporations have deep pockets to rope in both national and international celebrities and sportspersons endorsing their products. Some children feel good by emulating their role models. It is tough for children to stay away from it, looking at the current scenario of this bad habit. To counter this menace, the government must be on the front to lead the campaign by issuing health advisories against sugary drinks on TV, especially during the prime time. They can also increase the tax burden on such beverages, the way they do with tobacco and alcohol. This way, these drinks will become more expensive – to some extent, unaffordable for some children. Together Schools and parents can bring awareness among children about the toxic effects of such beverages. In summary, all endeavors must be exercised to make these drinks less popular and less affordable. To do so, every measure discussed above has to play its role.