Navratri is celebrated as an Indian festival tell us more about it

Navratri festival is the joyous way of worshipping Goddess Durga. The festival is celebrated all over the country with joy and fervour. ‘Nav’ means nine and ‘Ratri’ means night. The festival is so-called as it encompasses celebrations over a period of nine nights. The festival is celebrated over a period of nine nights and 10 days. Navratri festival is celebrated in the month of October/November. Navratri is celebrated four times a year in India- Sharada Navratri, Vasanta Navratri, Magha Navratri and Ashada Navratri. Sharada Navaratri is most famous across India. In north-eastern and eastern states, Navratri is referred to as Durga Puja. As per the holy scriptures, the demon king Mahishasura ardently worshipped Lord Siva and attained immense powers. He went on to commit atrocities on people. The holy trinity of Brahma, Vishnu, and Siva combined their powers and created goddess Durga to safeguard the world from the Mahishasura. In northern, southern and western states, Navratri is referred to as Rama Lila or Dussehra in these regions. This symbolises the victory of Lord Rama over the demon king Ravana, as indicated in the Ramayana.