Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For some time now, it has become a topic of debate where a section of society advocates that short-term courses as well as practical knowledge should be pivotal and more financial resources ought to be devoted to acquire practical skills, while others disagree. In my opinion, I agree with the above-mentioned notion due to reasons encompassed below. On one hand, it must be acknowledged that some people think that university degree is a ticket to successful life and after graduation, alumni have ample of career opportunities. However, the reality is bitter, for instance, in UK, only fifteen percent of population work in the speciality, while the rest eighty-five percent opt for work in low skilled jobs. In addition to this, we live in the era, where technology becomes obsolete become irrelevant in a short span of time. The prime example is IT sphere where knowledge which was given 10 years ago became too old and nobody can use the methods and tools which were taught earlier. Nevertheless, on the other hand, it cannot be denied that practical education is extremely important and people can save a lot of time by acquiring new skills in demand. In other words, people do not need to waste their time learning some theoretical knowledge which will not be needed in real life. Secondly, the tuition fee in universities is exorbitantly high and only a few privileged parts of society can afford it. That’s why investing in short-term skill development courses will be more beneficial for the upcoming generations. For example, the recent sociological survey has shown that the companies prefer to choose young professionals with practical knowledge rather than their counterparts having only university diplomas i. e. undoubtedly, the skills and practical experience yield a competitive advantage. In short, it can be concluded that although some people are in favour of university degree as they believe that this opens more career opportunities, however, I strongly believe that society should encourage short-term skill development courses and teach new practical skills as it not only saves time but also the efforts and gives benefits for young specialists.