My name is Dinara Son, I graduated from Kazakh National Medical University

My name is Dinara Son, I graduated from Kazakh National Medical University in 2009. I got a Master degree and I am a PhD candidate in Public Health. I have been working at KazNMU since 2013 as a lecturer. I like studying and teaching. This advanced training is a unique possibility to take up-to-date information in epidemiology and biostatistics for improving my knowledge and skills. I am interested in a foundation in modern epidemiology to be at the forefront in this subject, which I teach to my students. In selecting the University of Albany, I have been influenced by the way PhD research program addresses CVD. I am particularly looking forward to such courses as Biostatistics. I am also excited to interact with Professors whose work is closest to what I want to pursue for the original research component of the MS degree. I have been corresponding with current and former students, from whom I have learned about the collaborative environment at University where I can interact with teachers, industry professionals and talented students. I believe that I will be able to learn from the academically challenging environment at the University of Albany. I am going to continue my academic career as a lecturer and scientist at KazNMU. My professional skills at the Department of Health Policy and Management would help me. I was responsible for the scientific activities of teachers and students. I was engaged in correspondence with visiting professors from different countries: Czech Republic, Taiwan, Japan, Canada. I took part in international seminars and conferences. This was a great communication experience and an opportunity to touch modern science. I have lots of scientific publications at public health sphere. I strongly believe that this program will help me and my like-minded persons to improve quality of researches in Kazakhstan, make studies closer to international standards and, therefore, publish study outcomes in international peer-reviewed journals. Now I need high-quality international knowledge and I would like to share it with my students. Knowing the basics of epidemiology can reduce the number of socially significant diseases and improve the quality of life of our population. I have no doubt that my unmatched enthusiasm and eagerness to learn can take the course to new heights. I’ve attached my resume, which further details my skills and involvement in the community. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions about my background. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you further; thank you for your time and consideration.