MUSIC IS IMPORTANT TO BRING PEOPLE TOGETHER. AGREE OR NOT

Music is known popularly for the magic it creates and the substantial impact it leaves on the minds of people. But, is it the best way to connect people belonging to disparate cultures together? In this essay, I am going to point out certain causes which make me agree to the question raised above. Music has the tendency to alter a person’s mood accordingly. Many researchers have studied about the genuineness of this matter and have found pleasant results. Thus, it woud be easier to connect with strangers as music would have already comforted them making it easier for them to approach each other. My own experience could be a good example to showcase this-One day, I accompanied my mother to go to her friend’s house. When we reached there I saw her daughter sitting beside me, I wanted to talk to her but the nervousness was quite difficult to shake. Just then, my phone rang and the ringtone was a famous song called “MEMORIES”. She ended up asking me about the song which led to us being best friends now. Although, it might be difficult for people to completely connect to a song which they have not heard before or which is sung in another language. This does not mean that the person would utterly disregard it but would take some time to adjust with the language and the mood of the song. For instance, while talking to an unknown Australian on a popular social media site once, I decided to sing a beautiful song for him in Hindi. He did not understand the lyrics but he felt the innocence of the music and appreciated it. With the advent of advanced technology, now we have translator services available too. With the help of sites like Google, one can easily search for a translation of the lyric of a particular piece of music and find those in his/her’s language within a few seconds. Moreover, popular covers of songs which have been sung in a distinct language are translated into English, a language major portion of population understand in today’s world. In my opinion, music is a marvellous manner of abolishing cultural or age differences. Despite of minuscal obstacles if one tries to attain a flexible approach towards socialization these barriers could be easily overcome.