Music as the Connector across Cultures and Ages

Music has been around since times immemorial. It has been the chief source of entertainment and expression of feelings since we were hunters and gatherers. Whether it is created in a state-of-the-art studio or by chanting in a cave, it amuses us and changes our mood entirely. Apart from being a major source of recreation, music is an expression of our culture. Firstly, a majority of the folk literature was in the form of music. Secondly, music allows us to get a glimpse into different cultures. Ghazals are enjoyed by people all over the world as an expression of the Lucknawi culture. Another great example is Punjabi music. Whether it is a teenager from Tamil Nadu, a middle aged woman from Sindh, an elderly couple from Bihar, all cherish Punjabi songs alike despite their diverse cultural and social background. Moreover, music transcends the boundaries of language as well. You don’t have to know Bhojpuri to listen to Bhojpuri music. Music has a way of conveying feelings like no other medium can. Unsurprisingly, music is one of the few things that is not bound to a geographical location. Although the relationship between India and Pakistan is stranded, Pakistanis enjoy Indian music and vice versa. No one would contest the fact that music is timeless. It is never for a specific age group, for instance, a teenager might be a die-hard fan of old Indian singers such as Lata Mangeshkar. Furthermore, my eighty-something grandmother enjoys hip-hop even more than I do. She and my thirteen-year-old sister are often found discussing the latest hits of Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift. I strongly believe that music has the potential to connect people from widely different backgrounds and beliefs. It goes on to show that despite all the barriers, we aren't that different. Deep down all of us want to feel something profound, and this can be successfully accomplished by music. Overall, music bonds people across time zones, age groups, cultural and religious affiliations.