Museums are considered as one of the must-go attractions in any cities in the world.

Museums are considered as one of the must-go attractions in any cities in the world. Whilst some museums are free to access, there are some that request a ticket for the entrance. From my personal perspective, I contend that the drawbacks of charging fee are outweighed by its merits. On the one hand, having to purchase tickets before visiting the museums are detrimental for both museums itself and the visitors for a combination of reasons. In the first place, this approach will discourage the tourists to spend their precious time on visiting museums, especially with the impoverished. For instance, some artistic museums offer unaffordable prices, therefore, not a numerous citizen has opportunity to broaden their horizons in terms of science, history, art and other vital subjects. In addition, from the perspective of museums, they will soon have to close their business as visitors decline. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the positive aspects of selling tickets for visitors eclipsed its disadvantages. The primary rationale is the money obtaining from visitors that covers the museums to operate sustainably in the long run. For example, monetary profits from tickets can be used to pay water, electricity bills monthly. Also, maintaining a museum requires tremendous personnel as well as guiders, which consume a large monthly expenditure. Another compelling factor is that museums’ managers depend on revenue to enhance the amount of masterpieces exhibited for tourists. As a result, revenue plays a key role in determining the existence of museums. In conclusion, selling tickets can be attributed to the museums’ survival. Personally, museums should retain making money from tickets purchased by visitors but with appropriate prices and to subsidize the entrance fee for local citizens or children.