Government is wasting money on arts and this could be spent somewhere else.

The governments are supporting many artists, but some feel that this is a misuse of taxpayers’ money. Although many artists could not continue to work without this support, I believe that public healthcare is in more urgent need of financial resources. It is difficult for many arts institutions to generate profit, so without some help from the government, many theatres and other such places may have to close. The government must assist such institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. It will not only allow the artists to express themselves fully but also keep the cultures thriving. For example, there are many open-air concerts in the summer months in my hometown, which would not exist without the financial backing of the local council. However, I would argue that if these places were popular enough, they would be able to generate their income. Public hospitals all over the world are under financial strain. It would seem obvious that people’s health is of more importance than people’s entertainment, so this money should be given to hospitals to upgrade equipment and shorten waiting lists. For instance, Downshire Hospital in Ireland has blamed the lack of public funding for its shortage of nurses and available beds. Therefore, I believe that the money given to artists should be redirected into the healthcare system. In conclusion, though there are fewer opportunities to enjoy the work of artists, I maintain that the money should be put into hospitals because people’s health is a more worthy cause.