Mumps in the early 21st century

In recent years in the UK the number of cases of the viral disease mumps has risen dramatically. In 1988, with the introduction of a new vaccine, the number of infections has fallen dramatically, and rates had been staying low until 2003. Since that time, there was a rapid increase followed by another slow fall in the number of cases. Since the publication of the above figures, the rate felt back again to round about 7000 cases per year. What exactly caused the rise in the first place? Although older adults had not received the new MMR vaccination, they probably had the disease in childhood, and so has already built up some immunity. On the other hand, those born between 1983 and 1986, before the MMR vaccine started to take effect, has received no exposure to the disease in the community because the vaccine was largely eliminated it from the vaccinated age group, and so this group of young adults, now in their early 20s, have not acquired any immunity. To make matter worse, by the end of the century uptake of the MMR vaccine also began to fall, mainly as a result of controversy over its safety. In the 2009 figures it stood at around 80%, well below the immunity level of 95% recommended by the WHO