Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

It is true that many global companies are setting up their offices and factories in under developed nations. This essay will suggest that increased employment opportunities is the primary benefit for the local population, while disruption in the local market is the main drawback. The main advantage of the rise in multinational companies is that it increases the availability of jobs in the market. Major corporations have set up big offices and factories in emerging markets for their products and services, due to which they require a large number of staff for various jobs. For example, Apple recently opened a new factory in the small town of Bihar, where the employment level is very low, and they have provided jobs to 2000 people in that area. Despite this economic benefit, multinationals are not quite welcomed in the local market, because they cause market disruptions. With high manpower and logistical resources, multinationals can make a variety of products quickly, and local vendors cannot compete with the price, quantity and quality of their products. For instance, when Ikea launched its first store in Hyderabad this year, a lot of furniture stores in the city had to close down because buyers preferred to do all their purchases under one roof instead of visiting different local sellers. Thus, local shops are losing out on business, and eventually closing down. In conclusion, multinationals provide increased employment opportunities to people, but at the same time affect local vendors by forcing them out of business with their high production output and low price margins. It is recommended that the government passes laws and legislations to make sure that local businesses can survive and thrive in this competing market as well.