Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to more widely open policies in economy and immigration of many countries, the 21st century has witnessed the surprisingly increasing formation of multicultural societies where a varying number of ethnic people stay together. Although it has both positive and negative effects to a country, it seems to me that we are more likely to obtain more benefits than disadvantages from this kind of society. The more diverse the residents of a country are, the more cultural values they can share to enhance their awareness and knowledge of culture and tradition. People will get more directly engaged in understanding unique customs or rituals, life and work attitudes from their foreign neighbours, colleagues and friends. As a consequence, they enable to adapt the cultural diversity in order to develop their interpersonal skills and live closer to other cultures without having to live in person in another country. Additionally, once people can know more about each other through everyday interactions at work or schools, the severe conflicts or even wars will be remarkably alleviated. It is undeniable that there might have some drawbacks that multicultural communities bring to a country. Racial disparity accelerated, the wealth-poverty gap deteriorated, different culture tensions are specific cases for what are the so-called drawbacks, but the inhabitants can overcome these when the government implement friendly-ethnic peoples’ policies, as well as the dwellers, have positive thoughts and behaviours to live compatibly with others. Stimulating multiculturalism in a society will offer numerous advantages to a country rather than undesirable effects. Therefore, each individual should savour every rewarding moment of living in their multicultural community and proudly spread their unique traditions to international friends so as to increase the diversity. It is believed that multicultural environments bring many advantages for many people, since the variety of races, cultures and traditions will make the country become unique and attractive. Although, multicultural societies have some negative issues, but I do believe that the positive sides are greater than the negative ones. On the one hand, countries that have multicultural communities have some similar problems. Firstly, it is common that discrimination would have been the main issue. Some groups of people feel that their races are the most superior one; therefore they would underestimate certain kinds of races. Secondly, there is always a debate about religious activities, as some groups might have extreme faith in their religions and would annoy other believers. One of the classic examples would be the debate of religion in Israel between the Jewish and the Palestinian, which have caused so many casualties. Despite all the drawbacks, multiculturalisms will bring many advantages for the government and the people, if they are well managed. Multicultural societies make the city become alive and fascinating, as some sides of the city shown Asiatic cultures, while on the other side it shows Western civilisations. This situation makes the city becomes unique and would attract tourists from many parts of the world. As a result, it will boost the tourism industry, create a lot of employments and generate income tax for the governments. There are many multicultural cities that are well known, such as Sydney, Toronto and Singapore and they are considered as advanced cities, due to the proper management of its local government. In conclusion, it is undeniable that multicultural environment has its own advantages and disadvantages. In my point of view, I do believe that multicultural societies have more benefits than its drawbacks if they are managed properly by the government.