Education should be accessible to people of all economic background, levels of education from primary to tertiary education should be free. To what extent, do you agree with the opinion?

Education is an essential tool that imparts knowledge to improve one’s life. Many people believe that schooling should be accessible to all members of the society poverty despite of their financial status. Although there might be some drawbacks to this method. While I agree it is important that everyone is educated and pursue studies without incurring any cost. But I disagree that each tuition level should be charge less. Firstly, making education cost less and available to all will remove the barrier between the rich and the poor by ensuring that everybody has a right to learn and nobody misses out on any opportunity just because they cannot afford to pay. Government’s step in generating free of cost tutoring scheme for all till high school level, will set up a great example in our society. Especially in a developing country like India, the literacy rate will increase making a highly positive development as a majority of people will be educated to at least a ground level. Consequently, a country’s productivity and efficiency will increase because of its exceedingly educated workforce. For instance, a Harvard study concluded that the productivity of countries like China and India have increased by over 200% during the last 20 years and there was a growth in literary rate arising from free education. On the other hand, there is a chance that the percentage of failures might grow in cases where nobody has to pay anything for coaching, as students would not have to worry about bearing the burden of fees anymore. Brazil provides tuition free education at public universities, where the wealthy students reap a lot of benefits they do not need. Critics of free college feel that the government and taxpayers are subsidising the rich. To conclude, acquiring education should be made easier and more attainable for all but it is necessary to impose a payment on college level education. This will ensure both, a general betterment of population’s skills and performance.