Movies and Television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Some people argue that movies, television, and other media have significant drawbacks on how young people behave. They cite the violence and overly sexual nature of these media to support their point. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that movies and television provide far more advantages for young people. I will support my view point with two reasons. First of all, movies and television positively impact the actions of young children because many of these films deliver positive messages to the audience. For example, it is common now for television shows to demonstrate that bullying is not the correct course of action for children at school. In the past, before these media were available, children would not have been able to learn about the negative effects of bullying and other bad behaviors, and thus they participate in them more frequently. It is important for children to be exposed to these positive messages because they are able to be influenced at such a young age. Their brains are still developing and it is important that they see positive reinforcement of good behaviors as often as possible. Thus, media and television are actually beneficial for children. Secondly, movies and television could change the negative mentality and neutralize the evil minds in people with good programs, which would directly influence the children by making them transform into a completely new, good person. For instance, a child may grow up in a surrounding that is ethically illegal and evil such as in the atmosphere of smuggling, drug dealing and thefts that would make them turn bad but this can be transformed by complete social comedy programs or the shows that portray the importance of being good. If these kinds of shows are not available to them, they may not be have an opportunity to get changed into a socially acceptable person. Moreover, this transformation is very helpful not only to the individual person concerned but also to the society as whole. The society will become less prone to most of the bad/ illegal activities taking place. In this way, movies and television are helpful for children. In conclusion, the issue of whether children should be able to watch significant amounts of television and movie is complex. Some have suggested that their viewing times be reduced because the media negatively influences their behavior. Nevertheless, I still contend that television and movies are advantageous for children and they have a wholly encouraging effect on their behavior.