MOST SOCIETIES HAVE HOMELESS PEOPLE. SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE BEST WAY TO HELP THEM IS TO GIVE THEM MONEY.

As human race have entered the 21st century, the condition of poor people have not improved, but worsened. Many homeless people can be found alongside roads, under bridges and in front of religious places. Some are coming up with ideas of giving them money for their survival. I disagree with their notion and like to express my thoughts on it. To start with, giving money to needy ones is not the remedy of this situation. Money will provide them temporary form of satisfaction, which is going to last with them for few hours. That money will suffice the hunger of person, but not enough to buy him/her a home. Instead, one must come up with permanent solution to counter this growing situation. In addition, by offering them money, these homeless category will become lazy and will always expect offerings in some form. Many of beggars have become largely dependent on these offered sources of income and forgot about earnings by hard workings. And why one would work if he/she is earning by just sitting idle? People might be offering by looking at their pitiful condition, but it might be a case that borrower have earned fortunes by accepting such offerings. Interestingly, same was the case of local beggar in Mumbai, who was earning 77, 000 per month by just begging and was owner of 2 apartments. Instead, homeless people should be encouraged to make earning by working. Government can step in this situation, and can utilize homeless person’s physical ability for numerous activities. They can be assigned role of gardeners in public parks, sweepers and with some training can be used as construction workers. In this way, they will have stable source of income. Chances of affording shelter is only possible on permanent source of income. This initiative can further reduce the presence of beggars and homeless people on roads, a problem most commonly faced in developing nations. To conclude, offering money to homeless persons is not going to buy them home, instead these money is making them more lethargic. However, with help of concerned authorities, homeless persons can be employed in activities, convincing them to earn in a good way. So, I disagree with this thinking.