Most societies have homeless people. some people think that the best way to help them is to give money.

Many countries and societies have a recognizable number of homeless people. It is the opinion of some people that providing them money is the best way to help them. I strongly disagree with this opinion. Primarily, one of the fundamental reasons for homelessness is not having enough money and afford the basics of life. Secondly, the inability to afford their shelter stems from their inability to find steady employment and lacking financial prudence. Providing the homeless with money would only make them spend profligately on other requirements instead of real estate. For example, the homeless might spend the financial aid provided to them on immediate needs such as food and clothing rather than housing. Furthermore, it is a basic trait of humans to spend the money they have on their wishes rather than their needs. Adding to this, it must be noted that a proportion of the homeless could have lost their housing due to profligate spending on vices. For instance, the destitute population suffering from addiction to drugs, gambling, and alcohol are more likely to utilize the funding provided for housing for such things. Providing financial aid to the homeless population will not help in solving this problem since they lack the essential life skills required. Providing them with rehabilitation and finding proper employment will help the homeless will help them to become responsible members of society. In addition to this, providing capital to the unhoused for finding decent shelter will increase the burden on the government as renting and buying housing is very expensive globally. To conclude, providing financial aid to the destitute will not help in resolving homelessness. However, providing them with a helping hand by providing rehabilitation and essential life skills will help improve their condition as well as eradicate homelessness.