Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.

Homeless people are present in most of the societies. Providing homeless people with money is the best way to help them according to some people. I do not completely agree with this notion. Before we try to evaluate various solutions of this prevalent issue, we need to see what the root cause of the issue is. Why every society has homeless people, is it because of some natural calamity like earthquake or flood or is it because of manmade events like War. In this case providing them with money is the best solution as it will allow them to stand on their feet again, as they are not homeless by choice but due to external circumstances. However there are people who are homeless by choice, those includes drug users, small time thieves etc. Some of them are forced to leave their home due to their indulgences in illegal or immoral activities. Providing them with money is like putting fuel to fire, as most of these homeless people in this category, do not work. Instead one should try to find out long term solutions of providing them with employment and putting them in shelter homes or NGOs. There are people who used to be well off but due to bad decisions or bad luck have become homeless, giving them money can be helpful for people in this category. In the end it can be said that there is no best way to help homeless people, one solution does not fit all, giving money can solve the issue for a short period of time, but in the long run it can have negative consequences.