Most people today own a smart phone. Is this a positive or a negative development for society?

Mobile phones are ubiquitous in modern society, no longer being seen as a luxury, but as a necessity. However, I believe that this trend has had awholly positive impact by increasing the productivity and decreasing the communication gap between the citizens and the government. Firstly, smart phones allow workers to be more productive now than in the past. Smart phones are essentially small computers, and being able to receive emails, organize meetings, and access documents from one portable device has transformed the way that people do business. This will in turn lead to a faster and developed economy as a result. Take, for example, a society where people are connected with such gadgets can use the technology not only for improving the speed of production but also in increasing the marketing scope or delivering speed. Another positive result of smart phones has been the improvement in communication between governments and individuals. In the past, gaining access to government services required people physically going to an office and filling out forms by hand, which saves time, money and energy. Today, however, almost all services are accessible online via an app. In addition, many governments are taking advantage of the fact that most of their citizens use social media, and using applications like Facebook or twitter to spread information in times of crisis, such as in a flood or during spread of pandemics, thus helping to save lives. In conclusion, not only has the spread of smart phones resulted in people being more productive, but it has helped in improving the communication between government and people. Therefore, I believe that it is a wholly positive development.