Most people prefer ready to eat food than home-made food now. Do you think it has more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nuclear families and new working culture have changed the way people cook food. Many individuals opt for convenience food these days rather than home-cooked food. In my opinion, there are more drawbacks for people in consuming ready to eat food compared to food cooked at home. Admittedly, there are some benefits of packaged food. Firstly, since it can be cooked easily, it saves a lot of time. In other words, all the pre-requisite of preparing food has been done and the person has to just cook the last part. For instance, ready to eat Punjabi curry can be made in ten to fifteen minutes compared to an hour required to prepare from scratch at home. Secondly, convenience food is helpful because it has the required taste which helps people to satisfy their hunger. Packaged food is prepared to keep in mind the taste of people and their choice, which give people an opportunity to consume tasty food rather than what they would have prepared; thus, ready to eat food is prefered by many people these days. Nevertheless, despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that packaged food has more concerning drawbacks. One potential problem is that convenience food does not contain an adequate amount of carbohydrates, proteins, vitamins and necessary minerals. Unlike the fresh food prepared at home which is healthy, ready to eat food concentrates more on taste than necessities of various requisites for the human body. Another negative aspect is that ready-made food contains too many preservatives which are bad for human health. Because food has to be stored for a longer duration before finally being prepared, preservatives are added to keep it fresh and eatable which affects the human body. For example, according to the recent survey of a known magazine conducted in western India among the people aged between 27-35, 65% of people became obese and fell ill once in a month by consuming ready to eat food. Hence, consuming packaged food can have serious consequence to an individual' s health. In conclusion, due to the unavailability of necessary nutrients and harmful preservatives in convenience food, it can cause more issues to people than any minor advantages it might bring.