Most people do not care enough about environmental issues

As more and more people are shifting to modern communication methods like the internet and text messaging, some people believe that meeting people face to face will no longer be needed. In my opinion, while the technological advancements are happening at a rapid pace, they cannot completely replace face to face communication because it lacks emotional touch and authenticity. The primary reason for people to socialize is to feel the human connect and bond over conversations with like-minded people. While this is quite possible over social networking or even over a video call, the feeling of being physically surrounded by your loved ones is simply unmatched. In other words, physical communication holds an edge over digital communication as it also provides for the sense of touch which can never be experienced over internet calls. Secondly, many a times, communication over the internet can be unreal or fabricated. For instance, in an interview setting, the interviewee needs to be concerned about his looks and surroundings only so much as would be visible on screen. Furthermore, the interviewer can only rely on the interviewee’s face of his expressions and body language, but the same is not true for a face to face interview where entire body language can be assessed and therefore, is more authentic and real. To conclude, although high-speed internet and digital tools provide for a seamless connection across the world and are literally eliminating the physical boundaries, the pleasure of meeting someone in person and the reality attached to it can never be discounted.