You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Write at least 250 words. Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues are a growing concern. Every year we hear about protests and campaigns which try to shed light on one of the biggest environmental issues, climate change. Even after all of this, I believe people still do not care about the environment as much as they should. Each year, the practice of throwing trash in garbage bins highlighted. Yet, even today, we find a lot of garbage thrown in public areas such as parks and beaches. With busier lifestyles, individuals have chosen the "to go" life. From takeouts, plastic cutlery, plastic coffee cups, to-go water bottles, everything is one-time use. People do not realise how this, in a large number, accumulates and causes harm to the environment if not disposed of properly. Most people think that as long as it is not causing any damage to them, it is fine. They are unaware of the long term damages this lifestyle is causing to the environment. While a number of people do not care, we also see the people who are trying to create awareness and changing the previous ways. With the new generation, a lot of sustainability and recycling is promoted. Multiple restaurants have stopped the use of plastic takeaway boxes and cutleries. Sustainable clothing is also being promoted. For example, multiple fashion brands had recently come under fire because they promoted fast fashion. Many people decided to speak out against the unethical way clothes were being dyed and how much waste is being produced to keep up with trends. Due to this, there has been a rise in sustainable clothing and thrift shopping. Multiple people have also taken to social media to create awareness for environmental issues by promoting beach/park clean-ups. To conclude, while I agree that most people refuse to care about the environment, we should not stop creating awareness. Continuing to promote alternative methods for being more environmental friendly will, hopefully, help bring people to take these effects seriously.