Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. v. 1

With the sudden increment in the numbers of accidents happening in past decade, road safety has emerged to a be vial and critical point of concern. Most urban planners, stakeholders, native public and government are minutely observing different patterns followed in developed countries for reducing accidents. In my perspective along with imposing higher fines and stricter punishment, other aspects should also be taken care of. In many developed countries, even with faster speed limits and more cars or vehicles on road, traffic congestion and accidents rate are relatively at a lower end. For instance, in Dubai, pedestrian pathways are a part of road section; also they have designated bicycle, parking tracks and patches respectively. Another aspect which is considered prominent in road safety is the road furniture. There has to be a proper methodology for constructing speed breakers, road signals, roundabouts, flyovers, etc, which in turn will act as a prominent feature in reducing accidents in long term. Now days, people tend to get a license without even appearing for any exams leading to rash, hastily and immature drivers. The system should be rather transparent as air, eliminating the corruption level and the test should be more realistic. Also, government should take initiative at a foundation level by implementing driving lessons at a very early stage i. e. in school. But at the same time, increasing level of punishment might be useful to some extent. It is a proven truth harsher the punishment, the more likely individuals are to follow the regulations. People might start driving at a regular speed if fines are increased, might follow traffic rules if driving license is seized, might follow rules if imprisonment rules are in practice for those who don’t follow rules. Concluding, in my perspective, the ratio of imposing other rules and aspect to imposing higher fine is 70: 30.