Is freedom of speech essential in a free society?

Undoubtedly, freedom of speech is plays an important role in upgrading citizens. I think that freedom bring people together and move forward towards development. The primary reason of this freedom is reduce communication hasitation. It is necessary for every person, if he is just 5 or 6 years old or 80 years old men, it gives them guts to disclose their ideas infront of public. It would bring benefits in future. Like, politicians are giving speech infront of society, they express their view and plans. Thus, it would be converted in to a vote for election. So, indirectly it is much beneficial for a speaker. Moreover, sometimes sharing an idea, fulfill the need, which is require for converting that into reality. Although, it has some disadvantages. Like, it might use for bad influence. It distract people's mind and motivate to be a terrorist. For example, in pakistan number of terror group's leader influence public to create violence in other countries. In conclusion, eventhough it has few bad effect on public, it bring so many advantages for society. So, every government should give freedom of speech into the society.