Most nations want to hold international sporting competitions in their countries. However, some people think that there may be too many problems.

There are conflicting views regarding hosting international sports competitions. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my perspective on this matter. People who support hosting international sporting events may put forth the following argument. First, it is undeniable that international events could attract a large number of foreigners to visit the host country. For example, the Olympic Games, one of the well-known global events, attracted so many people to Beijing in 2008, which creates really good opportunities for people from other countries to experience Chinese culture like traditional foods, buildings and languages, enhancing global cultural exchange. Moreover, this type of event can stimulate consumption. For instance, visitors need to pay for their accommodations, foods, or souvenirs, which could improve the demand for products and services, boosting the host country's economic growth. However, some people who believe hosting such competitions may lead to several issues can also justify their opinions. The main problem that may be triggered is traffic congestion. For example, the use of cars or other public transports like buses and underground will increase because of the number of visitors. Therefore, people will have difficulty travelling, which will deteriorate traffic conditions, affecting residents' living quality. Another problem may relate to the environment. It is common to see that more people will generate more rubbish. If the government will not introduce regulations around littering, the sanitary conditions of the host country will be impaired, which may lead to severe consequences like lots of plastic bags and tainted foods on the street, posing a health threat to the people living there. In conclusion, from the above analysis, it seems that the negative impact of the international sporting competition depends on how governments manage it. Whatever people or governments will enjoy more benefits than detrimental impacts if the government could think about such detrimental influences and take action.