Children today find it’s difficult to concentrate or pay attention in schools. Why do you think causes this problem? What do we need to do to solve this problem?

It is not uncommon to hear the complaint that children nowadays are easily distracted from what they are supposed to do in class. The factors responsible for this problem and feasible solutions accordingly will be analyzed in this report. Among all the possible reasons,the excessive application of electronic products in school should bear the blame. Children born and raised in this digital age have been accustomed to keeping in touch with the outside world through their smartphones or iPad. As a result,various social media and mobile game APPs bring the world closer to them but dampen their enthusiasm for absorbing knowledge and skills. To expand their attention span in class and solve this problem,there are some measures that need to be taken into consideration. It is advisable for teachers,who usually function as monitors and managers of the class,to set rules about phone use. For example,anyone caught using electronic products for non-academic purposes more than three times will be given an “F”in the final exam. This can bring an immediate and tangible outcome within a short time. In, addition,distracting students from screens back to the whiteboard is also a way worth trying. Some activities designed for raising the energy level of students so as to get them better involved in a class can be applied wisely,like role-play,mingling, seminars etc. These kinds of activities convert the traditionally teacher-centred teaching pattern into the student-centred one and consequently compete with phones for student’s interest and attention. In conclusion,the abuse of electronic products in the classroom is the root cause of students' attention issues and the responsibility of sparing students from this problem falls on teachers.