Most information today is available online whereas in the past it was stored in books or on paper. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an irrefutable fact that in the recent modernized world the majority of information is available on the internet while in the previous time period this is printed on paper bases book and newspapers. In my opinion, I feel the benefits of information available internet has more benefits than drawbacks. Therefore, the main motive of this essay is to explicate both advantages and disadvantages of this development with justified illustration in subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, I will start by looking at merits first, one of the essential merits is affordability and convenience. In other words, in a sedentary life individual attains most of the information through websites due to their convenience as people used media devices in order to get informed while traveling, and the cost of obtaining news is affordable as compared to older paper-based versions. Moreover, the education level around the world increased exponentially due to affordability, which enhanced the economy of countries as education is a leading factor in constructive development. As a result, the internet support people across the globe to obtain knowledge conveniently and with less cost. However, the adaptability of resources and skills such as using media devices, internet connection, and education are the demerits of this development. By this I mean, although the information available on the internet is a supporting factor for youngsters, it works as a deterrent for the aged population as these older civilians are not familiar with mobile phones, computers, and the web. For example, a recent study conducted by Harvard University states that approximately two-thirds of the aged populace faced difficulty while reading on media devices. Hence, the lack of modern education among the older generation does not deter them from being informed, so they prefer paper books and newspapers. To summarize, I would like to reaffirm my position that the merits of this development overweight its demerits as it supports citizens to obtain information conveniently. However, this leads to an adverse impact on the older generation due to the lack of adaptability of technology.