most important characteristic of successful students

Success for one person is different from success for the other. There are many metrics that can be used in determining success. For a student success can be the academic score that he receives or the medals that he receives from the extra curricular activities. According to me success is when a student achieves both academic grades and performs equally well in extra curricular activities. The single most important characteristic that can lead to success is hard work. Although in today’s world talent is given more importance, society is slowly understanding the importance of hard work as well. It is truly said that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard. There are many metrics that one can use to measure success but for a student these metrics are generally his performance in exams or the medals that he has achieved in a sports event. In any domain if a student wants to achieve success then he must work hard to achieve his goals. If a student wants to ace his academic tests then he has to setup a schedule and work hard every day to achieve these goals. In a similar manner in the area of sports as well continuous training and dedication towards the sport is required to achieve success. Apart from hard work there are many factors on which success depends such as diligence and time management. But these skills also require you to work hard and only then success is possible. A successful student is a combination of various characteristics that help him plan, execute and achieve his goals. Although success can be measured by different metrics such as the academic performance, number of medals in a sports event etc all of them can be achieved through these inner characteristics that a student has and that is what differentiates him from the rest. But the one important characteristic that keeps all of them together that is hard work.