Most contemporary cities put up with heavy traffic.

Most contemporary cities put up with heavy traffic. This essay will discuss the reasons for this, and suggest several possible measures to approach this problem. There are some causes why traffic jams in most urban areas have been on the rise. The most striking explanation for this is that these cities are confronted with an increasing number of private vehicles. To be more specific, developed cities not only have been convenient means of transport but also have surged up in urban population. As a result, rural dwellers are appealed to living standard in metropolitan areas rather than living standard in countryside. Another reason would be poor traffic infrastructure. This is because those rural cities may lack of public transport and inadequate road capacity. In other words, transport infrastructure cannot ensure rural residents demand, which leads to using commonly private vehicles. Nevertheless, there are some viable solutions to tackle this problem. The first, and most effective approach, would be for the government to invest in public transport to reduce the use of personal vehicles. This helps heavy traffic to become less chaotic. In additions, the local authorities should develop different fields in suburban areas to make more job opportunities for citizens and reduce the number of commuters in urban areas. In conclusion, overusing individual vehicles and poor traffic infrastructure are two primary reasons for traffic congestion. Obviously, the best approaches to deal with this issue are public transport investment and developing suburban areas.