Question: Nowadays, many people tend to substitute offline friends with online ones. What is your opinion?

The 21st century has witnessed the tendency of making friends in modern society. Therefore, a matter of considerable concern at present is the issue that more and more people choose to make online friends rather than those in the real world. From my perspective, friends from the virtual world have played an important role in each person, but offline friends are indispensable in our daily lives. To commence with, online friends are priorities to many people in the global world for many factors. Firstly, it is widely believed that virtual friendship enables people to get access to any background in the world. It is because compared to previous eras, citizens only made companionship in their own neighborhood, province, city or in their social circle. Nowadays, thanks to the development of social media and the Internet, they can create a relationship around the globe regardless of geographical boundaries and racial, social and religious backgrounds. In addition, making friends online allows people to save up their time in modern lives. Since it is apparent that people in the 21st century are occupied with their duties, including projects, business trips or household chores, having online friends is an opportunity for busy people to keep in touch with them through social media or video calls without spending their time going out and visiting their real friends. Thus, they have a chance to relax themselves after hustles and bustles and meet their companions in the virtual world at the same time In other words, two elements constitute the preference of online friends in people’s daily lives. On the other hand, offline friends still make a great contribution to human society. First, acquaintances in real daily lives are widely believed to be dependable and sympathetic to people. It is because of the fact that when people are in a pickle, their offline friends tend to put themselves in others’ shoes more easily than online ones since most friends in real life can understand people’s situations rather than those who become their online friends only know by posts, videos or text messages. Then, chances are that their offline friends are able to be sympathetic and motivate them to recover from terrible circumstances. Furthermore, offline friendship removes the element of anonymity and therefore becomes more trustworthy. Conspicuously, people do not know all the friends we make online; therefore, it is difficult for them to create a firm, satisfying and genuine companionship. In addition, some friends in the virtual world can take advantage of their anonymity to do illegal things, especially money extorting or kidnapping if users are not vigilant enough. In other words, making offline friends play a vital role in people’s lives. In conclusion, the disposition to online friends has become more and more popular in the 21st century, however, real friends are also factors that constitute a good friendship. In my opinion, the best course of action would be an attempt to achieve a balance between virtual friends on the one hand and real friends on the other in order to achieve a genuine, effective relationship.