More big shopping malls are being built and they replace small shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

Large-scale shopping malls were recently constructed and replaced small shops. While this trend can be negative to some extent, I would argue that it is more positive. On the one hand, replacing small shops with bigger ones has several clear drawbacks. Firstly, since there are few big shopping malls located in some residential areas that are populous, many people have to travel long distances to go shopping. This takes people more time even to purchase items for their daily consumption such as soaps or noodles. If small shops remain to be located around the city, individuals find it more convenient to buy such items. Secondly, due to the high cost of operation and construction, prices of the products which consumers buy in shopping centers might be more expensive than the same products selling in small shops. As a result, citizens have to invest a great amount of money on shopping. On the other hand, there are some great advantages of building big shopping malls. First, the origins of products are checked carefully before being imported into shopping centers, which guarantees the quality of these products. If people purchase goods in small shops, they might purchase fake ones with low quality. Additionally, staff in shopping centers are trained in essential skills such as communication skills or sales skills, which make customers feel comfortable when shopping. For example, employees in Vincom Center usually welcome these customers with a bright smile. Consequently, consumers would be impressed and the likelihood of coming back next time is very high. In conclusion, while replacing small shops with bigger ones has several negative impacts, I believe the advantages of this tendency are much greater.