More and more young people are using drugs and alcohol and as a result, breaking the law. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

There has been a recent spike in the younger generation using illegal substances and drinking alcohol with the evidence showing leads to them committing crimes. This essay will discuss how children have nothing to do on the weekend’s results in this antisocial behaviour and how building and promoting sports centres can reduce the problem. When children of a young age do not have anything planned for the weekend they can often been seen loitering on the streets. This boredom leads to them experimenting with alcohol or drugs as they can often meet ___. As they do not know any better and there is a lot of peer pressure, children can end up drinking alcohol and doing drugs. Both of these actions inhibit their decision making which can result in them committing criminal offences. For example, when a child is being led astray and cannot form their own judgement due to being under the influence they could end up stealing or any other crime. In an attempt to reduce this kind of behaviour, the local councils should promote the sports centres for kids to go to on Friday and Saturday night as these are the most common times crimes are committed. By creating a group atmosphere and keeping kids off of the street, there is no incentive for them to return. For example, in London there are a lot of Non-Profit Organisations which work to keep kids off the street by developing football teams. The feedback from the children is that they were on the wrong path but sports has kept them on the right one. In conclusion, young naïve kids can easily bed led astray and when under the influence can commit criminal offences. However this can be corrected if the council look to keep kids off of the street during the weekends and participate in sporting events.