In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Survey reports show that the number of crimes in many countries has been rising for the last decade, which has had a negative impact on people’s lives and mental health. It is necessary that we analyse the cause of this disturbing problem and explore the effective solutions. There are various factors that lead to the situation. Firstly, with the popularization of the Internet, the types of crimes are increasing, such as stealing users’ personal information for fraud or organizing illegal activities through social media. Secondly, the increase in the gap between the rich and the poor, as well as the rise of the unemployment rate have forced some poor people to take risks in order to survive. Thirdly, due to the civilization of society and the improvement of prisoners’ treatment, going to jail does not mean a warning to some criminals. There is no doubt that reducing the crime rate is crucial to building a harmonious society. First of all, governments should use Big Data to prevent crime, and at the same time strengthen legal education for the public. Furthermore, it is advisable that governments give more consideration to poor citizens when making policies, and provide them with basic life needs or vocational training. Last but not least, prison is a place for punishment and correction, not a place for holidays. It should be stricter to reduce the possibility of offenders committing a crime again after being released from prison. To sum up, living in a safe and healthy society is vital for everyone. Governments should take their responsibilities to make the right policy and promote public awareness of the law. And I believe with the joint efforts of individuals and governments, the amount of crime will decrease in the next few years.