Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Children growing up are compared to a sponge with information, absorbing everything around them. Therefore they must learn good habits at a young age in order to become a contributing member of society. It is argued who is responsible for ensuring a child conducts themselves accordingly: the parents or the school? I believe it is the parent’s role. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and share my opinion on the matter. Children spend a large proportion of their time within the class room, developing their core skills and integrating with other pupils. The framework is constructed so they behave in a civil manner and work collaboratively amongst one and other. If a teacher deems and behaviour not acceptable then they will be punished. This, in essence, is the school ensuring they understand the difference between what is right and wrong and hopefully teaching them a lesson not to do it again. Therefore the school plays a major part in developing a child for the future however once the final bell rings the school lets the child return home. On the other hand, a child returns to their home before and after school and lives with their parents. Therefore the parents have taught a child core principles prior to attending school, and are their to enforce these values when they return home from school. It would be accurate to say that a parent is overall responsible for their child and the child’s behaviour. For instance, if a teacher provides a report of a child behaviour they are providing feedback to the parent to either praise them if they are doing well or to assist them where the downfalls have been identified. In conclusion, it is both the school and parents role to provide a child with lessons to ensure they grow into a functioning member of society. However the overall responsibility lies with the parent of the child.