More and more students choose to study at colleges and universities in a foriegn country. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this choice?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of students who decide to study higher education in a different country. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this decision. There are several unexpected benefits of studying abroad. First of all, many teenagers can study in a top-ranking university. They can achieve a new method of teaching, expand their academic horizon and develop the capacity to adapt to various educational settings. Secondly, studying abroad provides students a chance to enhance their language skills. While learning a new language at school is rewarding, applying it in the real world is an entirely different experience. They will learn the language faster because they have to use it daily. Fluency in a language gives them an opportunity to work in an international environment where people work together across the geographic and cultural boundaries. Finally, studying in a different country will allow them to meet new people, learn about new cultures and perspectives. And all of those things, they can broaden their mind and widen their horizons. In addition, they can also obtain a valuable degree. However, there are certain disadvantages of studying overseas. They may get a cultural shock and they will need a certain time to not only settle down with the city but also get used to local cuisines. Moreover, they probably get homesick no matter where you go. On some special occasions like birthdays, Christmas, . . . etc they may feel lonely even though you are seeing them through a screen. For someone, video calls cannot replace physical contact and intimacy. Last but not least, you may have to face some challenges when they are in the process of applying for a visa or preparing documents that are required for the admission to the university. These frustrating processes not only take time and money but also demotivate students. In conclusion, studying abroad is both beneficial and harmful. Nonetheless, we can deny the benefits studying abroad gives to us. If you have a chance, try it and wait to witness how your life changes. Since life is full of surprising things, just enjoy it!