more and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, deciding where to study is becoming increasingly popular. Having a chance to spend an extended period of time is an attractive one for many people, especially for young adults. However, there are both pros and cons to make decision to do this. In this essay, I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions. Let's begin by looking at some advantages of studying overseas. One of the main positives of moving away is that it broadens our horizons. What I mean by this is that they have the chance to meet people from different cultural backgrounds and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. This can make them open-minded person. Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life. Take british people for example, thousands of people from the UK move to Australia and Spain per year. These countries have warmer climate and encourage a better work-life balance. In addition, by studying in a foreign country one can gain qualifications and language skills which may improve promotion prospects in their life. Turning to the other side of the argument, culture shock is main problem. People who start studying abroad find it hard to figure out language barrier, the food and general cultural differences. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. Another issue is that it can be difficult to start a new life from scratch. In other words, when one moves to overseas they have to make new friends and find their place in community. This process takes time and can be particularly challenging if there is also language barrier to deal with. In conclusion, studying in another country is never easy. One can see in this essay that the advantages of studying in a foreign country are more than disadvantages. Personally, I believe the benefits in the term of personal growth outweigh any negatives.