More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars, or other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people have been more inclined towards purchasing products such as attires, cars, accessories and so forth that are from famous brands. There are several reasons why the number of famous brands’ consumers is increasing and I think it is a negative development. This essay will analyse the reasons and the harmful impacts on both individuals and society. There are compelling reasons why well-known brand names attract the consumer’s attention. First of all, purchasers who use luxury brands’ commodities feel fulfilled and they find these brands strongly trustworthy. They can make sure that the products that they buy are excellent in quality. Second of all, it is no doubt that possessing these types of products convey a sense of wealth, social status and accomplishment. For instance, in some countries, people believe that individuals’ personality has a direct relation to their luxury items. In addition, famous brands use advertisements with eye-catching designs to create a trend among people, especially youngsters. Nevertheless, as far as I’m concerned, this trend can have detrimental impacts not only on individuals but also on societies. To start with, from a social standpoint, this phenomenon widens the gap between the rich and the poor. Therefore, people will be judged and respected based on their affordability rather than their achievements and moral values. Moreover, some people purchase a well-known brand not because of necessity but because of trends. For example, lots of middle-class purchasers in Vietnam spend a great deal of money on iPhone while their old one is still perfectly functional. This may put their future finance security at risk. To sum up, it is true that the consumption of brand name products is increasing more and more nowadays, however, I strongly believe that the tendency is disadvantageous for both individuals and society on the whole.