Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the main source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is argued that while a great deal of people have interests in online news, there is no absolute replacement for newspapers as the major news provision. I agree with this opinion. However, online news is believed to have edges to traditional ones. This essay will justify the author’s perspective. There are many compelling reasons for the significance of newspapers. First, the reasons why newspapers are irreplaceable in spite of the growing popularity of Internet news is that readers can pick up more quality information from reading newspapers. In other words, the information in newspapers is more othordox and truthful in comparison with online news, which is more likely to be full of scams. For instance, a number of COVID-19 infected cases are reported differently on social media, which can confuse readers. Second, it is true that traditional newspapers are the type of newspapers which filter the instructions in a careful way. Moreover, some parents teach their young children to improve their orthography and broaden their knowledge by reading newsprints. On the other hand, it seems logical that the majority of people now prefer reading online news over traditional press. Nowadays, information is much faster with just a small device called smartphone and the Internet connection. With E-news, comprehensive information is now in the palm of one’s hand, with the advancement of technology, information is now just one-click away. Second, Internet news is cheaper than paper ones; it is also money-saving. Last but not least, with online news, trees will no longer be cut down to make paper. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the easy access to news on the Internet does not disprove the dominance of newspapers as a major supply of news. Nevertheless, online news also plays a vital role nowadays.