It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than the world’s history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people have argued that school should put more focus on local history as a subject for children, rather than global history. In my opinion, I agree with this point of view, but world history, which can also bring a variety of benefits to children, should not be overlooked. On the one hand, learning national history could be beneficial in different ways. First, children will have a clearer picture of what happened in the past. They will be more aware of where they come from and what their ancestors did. For example, by studying how earlier generations fought and sacrificed for the freedom of the country, the youngsters will take pride in their origin to express their gratitude towards the achievements of their great - great - great grandparents. Second, history teaches them numerous valuable lessons. We should learn from the past in order to prepare for the future. Only by learning more about the cultures, the people will we learn to preserve our culture and history to respect the ancestors. On the other hand, global history should not be rejected. It also plays a vital role. The knowledge about other cultures, customs and traditions will help broaden your awareness about the world in order to become a global citizen. Moreover, learning world history could help children have a better and deeper understanding of their own history. For instance, learning about the French Colonization in Vietnam during the 19th century will make children understand history from both viewpoints. In conclusion, local history is significant in the secondary and high school education of children. Therefore, it should be considered as a main subject. However, the importance of global history should not be denied.