More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items? Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, buying items from famous brands which include not only daily necessities but also luxury goods is becoming more popular among a large number of people. There are several reasons behind this trend, and I believe it brings both benefits and harms to society. To begin with, the rise of e-commerce has revolutionized the way people do business and purchase products. Due to the development of technology, office workers can shorten their working time and earn extra incomes aside from their primary jobs. Because of job demands, a great number of employment opportunities are created. As a result, there is an improvement in economic globalization which allows citizens to make an effort to buy expensive things to show their social status to others. Besides, the advertisement effect is another important factor making more people buy famous brands' things. Many companies put a large sum of money into advertisements with famous and popular actors or singers in order to attract more customers. People are increasingly exposed to photos of celebrities using luxury goods and many fans who idolize famous people would like to have the same items with their idols. Considering the facts mentioned above, it stands to reason that the growing preference for famous brands is mainly driven by the development of technology. However, it cannot be denied that overbuying famous brands' products is a negative development. This trend can make changes in the quality and reputation of the products. Well-made, authentic famous brands are limited, while with more and more people choosing to buy famous brands goods, sellers make use of high technology to produce fake products to sell to consumers.