More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, car and other items. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people have been more inclined towards buying products that are from famous brands. There are several reasons behind this, and I think this is a negative development. International household names, such as Coca-cola for beverages, BMW for cars and Apple for phones, have been globally recognized for their high quality. When people buy branded merchandise, they also buy the guarantee that what they buy performs well, lasts long or has excellent customer services. People buy iPhones knowing that those phones are relatively stable, that they will probably last for 1-2 years and that they can have them fixed almost anywhere in the world. The inclination towards famous brand names also stems from the desire for social acceptance. Everyone has a desire to fit in, and buying products that everybody knows is one way of showing that one is a part of a specific community. In my opinion, the dominance of famous brands is highly detrimental, as it obliterates healthy competition among companies. Take smartphones as an example: in recent years, the smartphones market has fallen into the hands of the two greatest moguls Apple and Samsung, leaving smaller brands or startups completely unable to sell their products. As a result, such a monopoly hinders innovations, for future trends and technology have entirely been decided by only one or two large corporations. Furthermore, several big companies such as Microsoft or Facebook have significantly driven the society in their own way, and by continuing to support those brands, we are giving them even more power and ultimately the powers those large corporations possess can be a serious threat to the government and the society as a whole. In conclusion, some people tend to buy famous brands because of their high-quality products and the feeling of fitting in. My firm conviction is that this trend is negative to smaller companies and even to the society