More and more people today want to buy goods, e. g. clothes and smartphones, with the well-known brand names. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It shows that an increasing number of people are willing to buy those products with famous designer labels. In this essay, I will discuss some possible reasons for this phenomenon, and personally, this trend could lead to the negative consequences Firstly, the rise in the consumption of branded products can be seen as the result of the celebrity effect. It is obvious that these products are manufactured by large companies, who will hire the pop stars to speak for their products so that these companies can gain more interests. As fans of these stars, in order to follow the pace of their idols, they will actively buy these products. Secondly, it is believed that branded products in common, are with high quality and long service life, especially those tech products. In addition, people have a desire to fit in, whether at school, work or in social circles. For this reason, people sometimes buy brands because they believe the brands will contribute to greater social acceptance. This is especially true in fashion. However, this consuming pattern has caused negative impacts. On an individual level, people who choose branded goods have to spend more money on their living costs than those purchasing common goods. This is because almost all branded products come with high prices. Besides, from an economic perspective, this trend has caused a decline in the sales of other generic brands. Therefore, those who live on these jobs may go unemployed, which endangers the social economy and stability. In conclusion, people have the right to decide whether to buy branded products or not. Indeed, it’s a personal choice. However, since the adverse effects, this trend should be prevented.