More and more people sre replying on the internet as their major source of news and information. What advantages does the internet have for the average person? What disadvantages could it have now or in the future?

There is an ever-increasing dependency on the internet for data and news in our generation. This write-up will explore some merits the internet have on the average individual and also the dangers it could pose to one now or in the years to come. One of the numerous merits of the internet id the easy accessibility to valuable data from all professional fields. For instance, one can gain access to information on researches in various fields of study which could be helpful in writing dissertations. Likewise, it is easier to store information for a long time on the internet and you can access this stored information anytime. Further, the internet is of great educational benefits as it has a repertoire of educative resources from which one can learn new knowledge. For instance, with the aid of the internet, one can be in Africa and could still learn Spanish or any foreign language of their choice from the internet. In addition to the above, communication has improved significantly thanks to the internet. Presently, one would not have to wait for months, if not years, before they hear from a loved one who has traveled, however due to the internet, people still keep in touch with relations regardless of their location. However, in spite of these advantages, there are a number of disadvantages of the internet posed to its users. One of such demerits is the cost that comes with its usage. Unfortunately for our part of the world, internet is one of the mos expensive daily commodity. Current researches indicate that the cost of internet in Ghana is twice as that of the advanced countries. Furthermore, cyber criminals could sometimes make the internet unsafe as they compromise the privacy of users to the extent that some have their safety threatened, Similarly, the world has witnessed a plethora of fraudulent activities conducted over the internet In conclusion, in spite of the disadvantages of the internet to its users, there are numerous advantages which outweighs the disadvantages and consequently the internet plays a pivotal role in our daily lives in our current era