It is important to give children the opportunity to make decisions from an early age.

There is a heated debate related to which age children should make decisions on their own. While some people argue that allowing the young to choose their options as soon as possible, I think it would be wiser when children reach 7 years old or above. It is undeniable that the permission of making decisions from an early age may have some benefits. First of all, the youngsters have the chance to cultivate their sense of independence. To be more specific, they would be more mature and less reliant on their parents on several things, such as whether doing homework or taking housework chores. Without the force of following anyone’s footsteps, they may find their sincere interests and determine the most appropriate path for them. As a result, the youngsters with clear vision could determine their career goal soon, outperforming their peers at the same age. Also, they would know how to take responsibility when making wrong decisions, which would be valuable lessons for them to be successful in the future. Letting children express their feelings independently may enhance their self-esteem significantly as they would think their parents would no longer consider them as a child anymore. Consequently, the young make more contributions to help their parents. On the other hand, I think the young would receive more benefits provided that their own decisions would be made when they get older. The youngsters do not have a clear understanding of the society’s morality as their cognitive ability is still not fully developed. They would not know which behavior is acceptable, so this may lead to some intorealate situations if they make decisions freely. For instance, some children like running, chasing, and screaming in the restaurant, which not only disturb other customers but also could embarrass their parents. So, that’s why parents should educate regulation and restrict their child’s behaviour until they are fully mature. In conclusion, thinking independently is a merit for young children, as they could enhance confidence and self-esteem as well, but their parents should give youngsters some advice to avoid the formation of bad habits.