More and more people nowadays have to compete with younger people for the same job. What problem does this cause? what are some possible solutions?

For the last few years, the job market has been witnessing an imbalance between the number of job candidates and job openings. This scenario leads to an increasing number of people competing with fresh graduates for the same employment. This essay will discuss some of the consequences of such situation with some probable recommendations. There are several problems associated with the higher number of job-seekers applying for the same opportunity. It usually implies that the majority of such candidates will remain unemployed as vacancies are being limited. If a country cannot provide suitable employment for the majority of its people, the growth of the economy will likely hamper and may result in a deadlock position. Also, some candidates probably try to be appointed adopting unfair means in the recruitment process. To illustrate these, a recent report in the Daily Star showed that Bangladesh police arrested all a gang who used to help unlawfully some opportunities in return of money. Thus, it is evident that unemployment and an illegal appointment can raise when many prospective employees apply for a few positions. To address the problem, one of the most effective solutions would be to increase the vacancy which is possible by developing the economy. Prudent human capital is a prime requirement for economic development, however, not utilising productively due to aimless administrative planning. China had discontinued higher education for 20 years to make sure that the citizens are educated with technical knowledge to support its long-term plan to become the largest economy in the world, for instance. Self-employment is another approachable solution to ensure employment opportunities for everyone, although occasionally it may require certain knowledge and training. In conclusion, despite the ever-rising crisis brings many social problems like unemployment and unjust appointment, the potential candidates can transform the problem into prospects, if measures are being taken effectively in accordance with a long-term vision.