More and more people are relying on private cars as their means of transport Problems and solutions

These days, it is undeniable that the advent of automobiles brings a lot of conveniences to people’s lives. However, the high relying of people on private cars results in several problems that need to be solved. As the number of car users increases uncontrollably, many related issues can be anticipated. The first issue worth mentioning is traffic congestion. Indeed, when the investment in transport infrastructure cannot meet the proliferation of private vehicles, traffic jams, especially in rush hours, are inevitable. Being stuck in traffic jams during rush hours makes commuters feel frustrated and get work inefficiency. Secondly, exhaust fumes from cars exert a detrimental effect on not only human health but also the survival of other creatures. Exposure to smoke and dust from means of transport can cause respiratory diseases. Moreover, the emission of carbon dioxide leads to global warming which devastates the natural habitats of wildlife. The massive of plants and animals could be wiped out. Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take steps immediately to address these problems. On the societal level, the government should improve public transportation. In fact, to be packed in cramped and hot buses is the reason why commuters tend to use their own cars. If the authorities could put more resources into enhancing public transport’s quality, people will commute frequently. In addition, policy leaders should raise social awareness of environmental protection. They not only urge but also educate their citizens about the negative impacts of cars’ emissions on the environment. On a personal level, people should share cars together instead of possessing their own car like before. This leads to a decrease not only in the number of cars in roads but also in accidents and traffic jams. In conclusion, despite a lot of boons accompanied, the overuse of private cars results in many problems. The government and individuals must have the responsibility to mitigate negative effects.