More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

A city offers many facilities and opportunities which are not present in a rural area, but not without a cost. Pollutions, frantic competition, higher expense and less personal attachment between people often make cities difficult to live in. The government has a lot to do to improve the lifestyle of the city dwellers. The overwhelming expense is the main problem for anyone who moves to a city from a rural area or a small town. The cost of education, treatment, house rent, food and daily commodities are far higher in a city. Pollution in cities is the second most severe issue and it makes metropolitan areas less suitable for children to grow up. People in big cities live in a contaminated area where the CO2 emission, the presence of carbon and other toxic elements in the air is higher. Another drawback of living in a city is the social classification and the gap between rich and poor. Social discriminations in city areas are far higher than the other parts of the country. Moreover, people in small towns and villages have a great bonding and they know each other very well, which is quite the opposite in a city. Moreover, municipal life is full of competition and it makes people’s life miserable. Someone has to compete to get in a public car, wait for his turn to meet the doctor, wait several hours in the traffic jam and fight really hard to get a decent job. The competition is so high that even a child has to go through a tough fight to be accepted in a school. I believe that many steps can be taken by governments to tackle these issues. Firstly, the government should control the prices of the daily commodities and build more high rising buildings to reduce the house rent. Decentralisation and the development of the provincial towns would let the authorities shift many industries to these regions and thus reduce the pressure on the cities and metropolitan areas. In conclusion, the government should take initiatives to improve the city people's living standard and make sure rural areas and towns have plenty of job opportunities to reduce the pressure on the cities.