More and more people are leaving the countryside and moving to cities nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

An increasing number of people are migrating to urban areas in search of work and better lifestyles. While there are upsides to this trend, it has certain demerits as well. Merits can be seen in the form of reduction in labor shortages, richer and diversified cultures and better employment opportunities. Moreover, cities offer better amenities like educational institutions and healthcare facilities. There is access to better living environments, in terms of sanitation and housing facilities. On the contrary, relocation brings with it several disadvantages like overcrowding, increased costs and competition. A rise in population leads to pollution and wastage of natural resources, which further degrades the environment. The spike in the cost of educational services and healthcare makes it difficult for these migrants to grasp at the opportunities of their choice. Thus, they have to settle for mediocre facilities and services which defeats the purpose of migrating in the first place itself. To conclude, this tendency to shift is both beneficial as well as unfavorable. Authorities should ensure that there are proper regulations in place so that overpopulation may not be a grave issue for the developed districts. Sustainable living is another factor that should be looked into in the near future.