More and more people are buying ready to eat foods instead of cooking themselves. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is an undeniable fact that, people need to eat appropriately in order to sustain their survival. However, a large number of people prefer eating foods that are already prepared, instead of cooking at home. This development, although, carries some benefits, yet the drawbacks still predominate, as discussed in this essay. On one hand, firstly purchasing ready to eat foods, has the advantage of saving the time, especially that of the mothers. For example, if ready-made food is bought from outside, a mother gets the opportunity to spend more time focusing on other needs of her kids just like preparing them for school and helping them with their homework and assignments. Secondly, she also gets some spare time for herself, whereby she can relax and take her good care by joining a gym and exercising, to keep her fit and active. On the other hand, there is a big list of the detriments resulting due to eating fast food. The most important and hazardous of them is the increasing rate of obesity. For instance, the people who are fond of ordering food from the restaurants, every now and then, take the toll of the unhealthy products like oil, ghee and spices, used in their making. This not only leaves them overweight, but brings along a pile of diseases like hypertension, diabetes and obesity, too. Moreover, buying food online wastes money as well, because the people have to pay almost double the amount for the pre-prepared products when compared to making the same dish at home, because they have to pay for the taxes and delivery charges. To conclude, the ease provided by the ready to eat foods has been most often temporary and short-lasting. Furthermore, the menace of weight gain, diseases and wastage of money is a major disadvantage of this newer advancement.