Money cannot buy you happiness. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Achieving happiness has always been one of the priorities of humankind. In this regard, while I believe that money has a role to play in making a person happy, I think that the true source of happiness lies in relationships and health. It is true that meeting our basic necessities is impossible if we do not have enough money. On a daily basis, people need to go to grocery stores, buy services, pay transportation fares – all of which are made through financial means. Shortcomings in at least one of the abovementioned make them feel dissatisfied. Moreover, people’s never-ending materialistic needs, such as desire to drive a brand new car or live in a luxurious apartment in downtown, are factors that are attributed to happiness and fulfilled with money. However, I would argue that health and relationships are two inextricable and more important elements in life that are cores of happiness. Sound health a person has is probably the most valuable asset; with which he/she can lead a happy life. To illustrate, for the one who is suffering from a debilitating illness, say, cancer, nothing can help but family’s support and care. Another clear example on why money’s role is minimal in happiness can be millionaires, including Steve Jobs who has died from cancer; having accumulated wealth throughout their lives, they put little emphasis on health as well as relationships. In conclusion, although in satisfying our basic needs money can play its part, I believe that health and relationships are crucial components of happiness in life that money cannot buy.