Modern life is becoming more and more stressful, and many people now suffer from stress-relatcd illnesses. What are the cases of this stress, and what can be done to overcome the problem?

These days life, in general, is faster, busier and more demanding than in the past. People are expected to work longer hours and achieve more in their careers. In this essay, I will loɔk at how this affects people's everyday lives and in particular, how this affects their health. In my opinion, there are two major factors that cause stress inside and outside of work. Firstly I will look at the pressure at work. Inside work, people are being asked to be more and more competitive. They have competition from inside their company - from people under them working for promotion; they also have competition from other companies. In addition, there is competition from companies in other countries. All of these lead to longer working hours, increased pressure and increased stress. If this is hard for men, it is twice as hard for women who work as they also have to look after a family. Secondly, I will talk about the demands outside work. Increasingly, better communication means that advertisers and other people can persuade us into buying things that we perhaps cannot afford or do not require. The problem is that when a product becomes fashionable, people's children would like to have one and this places more pressure on parents to buy these things so that even at home where people should be able to relax, there is still pressure and stress. In my view, there are no easy solutions to this. People need to make time for themselves in their private life and to make sure that their working life does not take up valuable family time. Another way of helping with stress is to do regular exercise and eat well. However, in my opinion, the main way of keeping stress to a minimal, management level is to keep work at work and private time separate.