Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the latest means of communication such as email and messaging have made people have less time to meet their friends which negatively impacts their social life. However, I believe it is not totally true. Looking back on past, people communicate with friends via letter and phone. However, these two ways take a long time and are quite expensive for users. Being busy and far distance make it hard for people to have a face to face meeting also. As a result, the relationships tend to be faded away over time. Nowadays, almost people use modern form of communication such as email and messaging which is much more convinient owing to their benefits, Firstly, everyone can send an instant mesage to their friends everywhere with a very cheap price. Secondly, these modern forms are updated so that people can send out voice messages, pictures, emojis making the content of the conversation more interesting. For example, in my case, I have some foreign friends who I still keep contact with them through messengers. As a result, my social circle is bigger and I can broad my mind by chatting with others come from other countries. I think it is also difficult to argue that electronic email and messaging have reduced the amount of people see each other. In contrast, people are spending more time to hang out with their families and friends in the parties, events or entertainment areas. In conclusion, i entirely disagree with the statement in the question and firmly beleive that modern communications have greatly improved people's social lives.